

PO Box 12468 Shawnee Mission, KS 66282-2468

Fax: 913.341.4225 www.kcvma.com

## Built on the Shoulders of Veterinary Giants: AVMA Presidential Leadership BY: DR. STEVE JOSEPH, KCVMA HISTORIAN

During the 152 year history of the AVMA at least 23 presidents of the national association have had a relationship with Kansas or Missouri.

Six presidents in the Kansas City area have been covered in earlier articles. They included: Sesco Stewart (elected in 1902): Known as a pillar of the Kansas City Veterinary College (KCVC). Albert Kinsley (1921): Founder of Kinsley Laboratories in Kansas City and KCVC President and

Dean.

**Joseph Flynn** (1935): Opened one of the first veterinary hospitals in the US exclusively for dogs and cats. Described as Father of Small Animal Practice.

Abner Quin (1954): Called a dynamic champion of the veterinary practitioner.

**Joseph Knappenberger** (1968): One of 18 veterinarians invited by President Lyndon Johnson to participate in the White House Conference on Health in 1965.

**Gerald Johnson** (1991): Speaking to a CVC convention in 1992, Dr. Johnson said, "Enthusiasm is the yeast that makes [our] hopes rise to the stars." Past KCVMA President Amanda Donnelly said, "I don't ever remember seeing [him] when he wasn't smiling and offering words of encouragement."



Dr. Greg Hammer

Since those articles were written, another Kansas City area veterinarian has joined the ranks of our national presidents. He is Bonner Springs native **Greg Hammer** (2007). Dr. Hammer is a 1973 Kansas State University CVM graduate. He was recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2001 and was named the CVM Alumni Fellow in 2008. He practices in Dover, DE.

Other presidents include: **Tait Butler** (1900), KSU CVM Professor; **Ralph Dykstra** (1931), first KSU CVM dean 1919 - 1948; **Nicholas Williams** (1932), 1911 KCVC graduate, Texas State Veterinarian for several terms; **Charles Bower** (1943), established the first practice in Kansas exclusively for small animals; **William Hagen** (1947), first director of the National Animal Disease Laboratory in Iowa; **Willard Boyd** (1952), first dean at the University of Minnesota CVM; **General Wayne Kester** (1956), Air Force Chief of Veterinary Services in the Pacific Theater during World War II; **Eldon Leasure** (1960), KSU CVM Dean 1948 – 1964; **Don Spangler** (1965), grew AVMA investments from \$250,000 to \$5 million. **Jacob Mosier** (1981), served KSU CVM for 47 years and received the Mark Morris Senior Lifetime Achievement Award; **Sam Strahm** (1989), Chairman of Advisory and CE committees, AVMA Foundation and charter member of the Governmental Affairs Council; **Leon Russell** (1993), President of the World Veterinary Association; **James Nave** (2000) Director of AVMA International Affairs; and **Clark Fobian** (2013), Chairman of the AVMA Foundation.

Presidents who have an association with Kansas are Mark Morris (1961) and Mary Beth Leininger (1996), first woman president of AVMA.

Since 1900, Kansas and Missouri have had a remarkable record of leadership accounting for 20 percent of AVMA Presidents.

Thanks to Dr Howard Erickson (KSU) and Trenton Boyd (MU) for their assistance.